Wednesday, October 21, 2015

My ideal job, part 2


Nowadays,  studying something related to Social Science is not the greatest plan of all times. If you  make a simple review to websites that shows numbers about rentability and employability, the top careers are the associated with health and engineering, and as you can imagine, in the bottom of the list we can find the careers related to the field of social science and humanistic investigations, etc. 

Secondly, when you graduated and start to looking for a job, the experience requirements can be your biggest enemy. I think that is tragicomic the facto that the "labour market" demand professional people with at leas five years of labour experience, is insane! So the lack of experience can be an important issue. 

I'm from Calama and there's a lot of native communities with those who I'd like to work. I know that there are municipal programs that allows to work with them, and that are looking for anthropologist. My aunt works in there and she is always offering me make the professional practice with her, so I think that I have great chances.

I think that the interviews and all that stuff is not a problem, at least to me, but one of my biggest fear is work in something in what I don’t believe, or bring information that can be used for evil purposes that can cause a huge damages to the people.

The road ahead is hard but not impossible,  If you work with passion and conviction everything can be brighter and easier. 

Wednesday, October 14, 2015

My dream job

 Hi bloggers


Have you ever thought about what you are going to do in the future for not die of starving? I'm sure you did. Well, I did it too, but maybe I failed because I'm studying anthropology, and my career is not cost effective here in my country, but I'm happy, we can live of hapinness, right?. Ok no, so I've been thinking of what I'm going to do in 2 years more.

First of all, I always thought that it doesn't matter in what you're going to work, if you like it, and if you can help to the people and contribute in some way to the society. So, the choice of my dream job is not for a monetary thing, like high salry. With the anthropology I think that I can work in many fields, is a dinamic career. But what I like most is work outdoor, do fieldtrips, meet people and know more about different kinds of life. This year I have an assignature called "anthropology of nature", where we have to visit rural sites and observe the relationship of the people with the environment. With some classmates we're working with the people of Catapilco, and the most amazing thing is feel that you're finally being useful in something.

In anthropology you can choose between archaeology, and social or physical anthropology. I choose social anthropology because I can feel closer to the people and their problems, but I didn't think about an specific field yet. As I say at the beggining, I like to go outside, make investigations,etc. However, I'm not close to work in municipal programms or government entities, developing programms related to topics of migration, original cultures, neighborhoods, and others. If I have to choose between a better salry and satisfaction, I think that I will take the second. I'm very happy with my career, and instead I like other jobs, I think that this is the one that I've been dreaming.

Take care!

Thursday, October 8, 2015

Obsessed with How I met your mother

Hi there!

Today I want to write about a situation that I've been through and I'm a litte concerned. A few months ago my mom contracted the services of Netflix, an enterprise that provide access to a range of movies and TV show for a small amount of money for month,
Well, in a parallel, I've always want to watch a TV sitcom called "How I met your mother", that tells a complete story of how Ted Mosby, and architect that lives in New York, met the mother of his children (you didn't expected, right?). Ted shares the story of their friends Marshall, Lily, Barney and Robin, how was their life living in New York, and how was the long way that he had to tread to met the love of his life. He takes like 9 years to tell the entire story.
So, going forward, my mom signed the contract and now we have Netflix. And then, when I open the website, a magical thing happened (ok, isn't magical), Netflix has available 8 seasons of 9 of this amazing serie, and each chapter has a duration of 20 minutes aprox., that is to say: WAS PERFECT FOR ME. I will watch one episode each day and so I could continue with my university life normally. But, the worst thing happened. I got obsessed.  Each chapter was so short that when one finishes, I though "just one more"... 2 hours later, I found myself in front the TV, understanding how many chapters I've seen. Now I'm in the 7 season  (NO SPOILERS PLEASE!), and I'm feeling closer to the end, so I can't stop ("don't stop me now"). I'm kind of in love of Barney Stinson and every time I'm connecting more and more with the joys and woes of the main characters. In this precise moment I want to end faster and watch another episode. But I will control myself... after I tell you if it worth it.
I would like to know if you had been through this too. Have you seen How I met your mother? I need feeling a normal person, please. Greetings :)


My favourite piece of technology

Hi Bloggers!

Well, in this ocation I'm going to tell you what is my favourite piece of technology, I know that this is a controversial topic, I think that all human beings have a love/hate relationship with this innovative objects that makes more simple and instant our lifes.

For my part, since I was a child the TV was an important part of the family gatherings, whether for watching films or series together. We're super-conscious that "TV lies", but we can live with that, knowing that TV news shows a lot of lies, butTV series are great.

In my childhood, I loved to watched Nickelodeon and Cartoon Network, both TV channels where series fore children were transmitted. When I saw the same series in the present, I think that were more for grown people, and know I can understand why my parents love it too. TV show like Rocko's Modern Life, Angry Beavers, Hey Arnold!, Aaah! Real Monsters, The Wild Thornberrys, Dexter's Laboratory, Two Stupid Dogs, and others, were our entertainment during the evenings. In the present, we still meeting around the TV to watch a cultural show, a movie or any another amazing thing that TV channels transmit.

However, there's no reason to think that we've lost the ability to communicate with each other, as I say at the beginning, we are aware of the horrible consequences of an improper use of technology and the mass media, so we just use it cautiously, keeping our family dinamic and a strong interest to know about the other person.

I think that the reason of why I like this technologic device is because we can stay together as a family having a great time, sometimes learning, sometimes laughing or crying (I cry with a lot of movies, whether of joy or sadness... such a mess). Without this my life probably remaining unchanged, because the only thing that makes awesome the TV for me is the moment that we can share with the people that we love.